jump to navigation

Preparing for Departure August 25, 2006

Posted by Brian L. Belen in Ramblings.
trackback

I’d begun packing for what will be another four-month stint in New York when I struck by an overwhelming feeling of…sadness. It’s a glass-is-half-empty versus glass-is-half-full sort of dilemma. I know I’m a lucky fool: I get to jetset, live on my own, and get a world class education (thereby avoiding the need to find work altogether in the interim). Yet at the same time it’s not what I have to look forward to in New York that’s on my mind but everything that I leave behind. In the grand scheme of things, the four months (and the several more to follow) will pay itself back later on. But here and now, it’s still a long time and a whole lot more than I bargained for.

Half empty? Half full? Maybe I have too much glass.

Anyway…

The good news is that I have a more direct flight this time (just one layover) and I don’t have to worry about bringing my laptop and other gadgets onboard the plane. The bad news is that my plane departs at the crack of dawn, and because of the new security measures in place I have to check in four hours ahead of time. I suppose you can’t win them all.

Either way, the next time I update this blog I will be back in New York.

Let the next four months begin.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a comment