jump to navigation

The Philippine Bill of Rights [Presentation Thursdays] April 15, 2010

Posted by Brian L. Belen in Academically Speaking, Presentations.
trackback

In view of the upcoming elections, I suppose this is a timely post: here’re some old lecture slides on the Philippine Bill of Rights enshrined in the 1987 Philippine Constitution (Article III).

Since this would be a subject discussed over several class sessions, it was necessary to divide the content into more manageable chunks. Thus, I decided it would make sense to devote one presentation to civil rights exclusively:


View this presentation on Slideshare.

Meanwhile, I grouped legal and political rights together for another presentation (I admit, the categories are somewhat porous):


View this presentation on slideshare.

Obviously, this not-so-arbitrary division of the Bill of Rights means that Article III wasn’t presented “as-is”. At the time, I thought this would make for a better way to present the subject; yet having used these slides several times during my stint as a teacher, I’m not convinced this was an effective approach. Then again, the slides did serve the purpose of prompting students to ask questions about their rights, so I suppose my little experiment was a wash.

[About Presentation Thursdays: Every now and then, on a Thursday, I post a presentation from my archives and include some accompanying commentary not just about the content but also my thoughts on designing it. The presentations can also be viewed and downloaded from my Slideshare page]

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

