jump to navigation

Philippine Political Culture [Presentation Thursdays] September 10, 2009

Posted by Brian L. Belen in Academically Speaking, Presentations.
trackback


View more presentations from brianbelen.

Continuing with slides on Philippine Politics and Governance, these are the slides I prepared for the lecture on Philippine Political Culture.

The source material for the lecture borrows heavily from David Wurfel’s book Philippine Politics: Development and Decay. Granted, the book itself is a bit dated, but it remains one of the seminal works on the subject. Other references were used peripherally.

As far as the slides are concerned, I’m amused that I even bothered with the slides on “further reading” at the end. This must have been during my “idealistic” phase as an instructor. It’s a good idea in principle, but in practice I can think of much better ways to implement it. For lecture purposes, however, unless absolutely necessary I think it’s acceptable (and sometimes better) to forego this, since the same information is more effectively imparted through the syllabus or on handouts.

Oh, and for my non-Filipino-speaking readers: the Filipino term that appears on the tenth slide translates as “debt of gratitude”.

[About Presentation Thursdays: Every now and then, on a Thursday, I post a presentation from my archives and include some accompanying commentary not just about the content but also my thoughts on designing it. The presentations can also be viewed and downloaded from my Slideshare page]

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

