jump to navigation

BBFI Corporate Presentation [Presentation Thursdays] February 12, 2009

Posted by Brian L. Belen in Presentations, The Daily Grind.
trackback

Here’s a presentation I prepared for the Bato Balani Foundation (BBFI):

This is the first presentation I prepared after reading both Presentation Zen and Made to Stick. Compared to my earlier presentations, the aesthetic is much simpler and (in my opinion) much more elegant. Further, the combination of visuals and minimal text allows for the flexibility to tell stories about what the foundation does at greater length by expounding on the pictures. For instance, the picture on the sixth slide is from a MOA signing between BBFI, Enrique Zobel Foundation and Ayala Foundation-Gilas. That C-130 (?) airplane on the tenth slide is from a book donation program where we brought our books to Clark Air Base for them to be flown out to deserving schools in Mindanao. And so on.

Back to the finer points of the presentation: I had to custom-design the template because I wanted to make a presentation using pictures within curves. At first, I thought it would be possible to do this using large circles offset on the slidespace, only to learn that Keynote couldn’t display the pictures correctly if I filled the object with the picture. I resorted to laying out a sample slide with a blank oblong object, saving it as an image and editing it in Photoshop to make the oblong transparent. The result: a slide template with a “hole” in it where I could send a picture behind in order to frame it within the curve. When I added text to the same slide, I just faded the picture to give it a watermark effect.

The net effect…you be the judge. On the plus side, it makes for more visual slides, and allowed me to experiment with a more stylish “navigation bar” along the curve (on the presentation, they are all live hyperlinks). In the minus column, the curve wastes a lot of space, and it becomes a challenge to keep text within the picture area.

The later slides were recycled from other presentations I’d made in the past, which is why they have a very different feel to them. Also, the presentation was deliberately structured the way it was so that it would make use of the simplest possible animation: a fade transition from slide to slide.

[About Presentation Thursdays: Every now and then, on a Thursday, I post a presentation from my archives and include some accompanying commentary not just about the content but also my thoughts on designing it. The presentations can also be viewed and downloaded from my Slideshare page (Creative Commons license applies)].

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

