jump to navigation

Dissertating 12 December 7, 2008

Posted by Brian L. Belen in Academically Speaking.
trackback

It’s two weeks delayed, but my first dissertation proposal draft is now in the offing.

The way this works sounds odd, but makes sense in practice: usually, the PhD candidate has a mostly workable paper already before even “proposing” it as his/her dissertation. Sure, some (extraordinary) people can get away with proposing an idea from scratch, but us mere mortals typically need loads of preparation long before a proposal is made, which upon approval and more work becomes a dissertation draft, which upon acceptance gets them through grad school.

So the past month’s been spent programming and doing a write up of the econometric results. It’s much more fleshed out than either the concept paper I’d prepared previously or my “Draft Zero” that in retrospect was overly ambitious, but I hope to get some feedback from my adviser soon so I know exactly how to move forward from here. Once I do, I’ll probably post the draft and some of the other work so far somewhere here. But let’s not get ahead of ourselves.

Did I mention I intend to submit this for consideration at a remittance conference being organized by the Philippine Central Bank next year? Yeah, so much for not getting ahead of myself…

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

