jump to navigation

Vending Machine September 27, 2008

Posted by Brian L. Belen in Show and Tell, Technology.
trackback

Occasionally, I find myself in a situation wishing that I had greater affinity for photographs and had something better than a cameraphone with which to take them. This was one of those times:

While waiting for my flight out of NY from JFK, I glanced around the terminal area as it grew increasingly crowded. Behind me, I caught a glimpse of someone apparently browsing through some gadgets. “An electronics store!” was my first thought, surprised because I hadn’t noticed one by the boarding gate. As I stood up to check it out and got closer, I realized that it wasn’t quite the store I expected.

It was a vending machine! For gadgets! Not exactly “lightweight” items either, considering that among its wares were a PSP and several iPod nanos. Naturally, this requires a more sophisticated payment system: no dollar bills or quarters for this baby but a credit card reader instead.

Much as I would have wanted to buy something just to try it out, there wasn’t anything I needed and I simply couldn’t justify purchasing such a costly souvenir. Ah, but what a souvenir it could have been!

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

