jump to navigation

In Absentia March 24, 2008

Posted by Brian L. Belen in Ramblings.
trackback

By now I’ve become convinced that everything in New York even remotely worth talking about happens while I’m not around.

Truly, in the nearly three-plus years of my ongoing adventure, interesting things happen in the city whenever I fly home on holiday. To wit:

  • The MTA transport strike.
  • The pipe that exploded near Grand Central station.
  • Eli Manning and NY Giants putting an end to the Patriots’ perfect season.
  • The bombing of the military recruitment office at Times Square.
  • Governor Eliot Spitzer’s fall from grace after being outed as Client #9.
  • The crane that collapsed on East 51st street.
  • Maybe now that I’m on the way for what should be my last lengthy layover in the capital of the world, something noteworthy will happen. Just saying is all.

    Comments»

    1. Random Travel Notes 7 « BRAIN DRAIN - June 9, 2008

    […] Crisis! Calamity!. I’ve written before about how it seems that interesting things happen in New York while I’m not around. It would […]

    2. Such Is Life « BRAIN DRAIN - March 9, 2009

    […] I’ve said before that anything the least bit interesting that happens in New York takes place when I’m not around. […]


    Leave a Reply

