jump to navigation

Weekend Maladies August 20, 2007

Posted by Brian L. Belen in Ramblings, Video Games.
trackback

Friday: Unexpected and Inexplicable

I woke up with a surprisingly swollen left eye.

It didn’t hurt — that was the good news — but it was very difficult to keep open, causing me to feel sleepy for practically the entire day. Aware that I had to attend to a few things that day and worried about my appearance, I quickly came to the conclusion that my eyes would only look normal if either I were to keep on squinting (thus walking around practically blind) or go about with a wide-eyed look of surprise (a more viable option, yet unfortunately more difficult to maintain).

So I bit the bullet, swallowed my pride, and decided it didn’t matter as I set out to get some work done. As expected, the people I met couldn’t help but ask the inevitable “Hey what happened to your eye?” To this, I jokingly replied, “Oh, it was my girlfriend: I reminded her I was leaving next week for another four-month spell, and learned she has a very impressive right hook!”

Amusingly, when I actually told her later (to her horror) that that’s what I’d been telling people all day, I very nearly thought I’d be on the receiving end of the real thing.

Saturday: Also Unexpected yet Easily Explained

The next day my eye had gone back to normal, but I suffered from allergies the entire day.

The reason, I surmise, has to do with some work that was being done around the house. I woke up that day to the sound of some sawing and hammering, and later on learned that my mom had a carpenter come over to make some adjustments to some shelves or what not. Inasmuch as the work was confined to an area a reasonable distance away from our living quarters, I think the dust somehow got to me and left me with the sniffles practically the entire day.

Really, this happens more often that I’d like to admit, and days like this I feel like a walking allergy.

Sunday: Entirely Avoidable but Utterly Irresistible

After weathering a swollen eye and a day’s worth of sneezing, there was only a sore shoulder left to contend with.

This one can be filed under the category of “Wii-related injuries”, only it’s not an injury per se but rather another case of too much of a good thing. On Friday night, my brother happened to pop his head into my room as I was killing time with Wii Sports, which prompted me to pass him another Wiimote and have him join in. Four hours later, despite in-game reminders that we should take a break, we were still going at it.

The worst part about this is that as soon as my shoulder feels up to it, I know I’m gonna fire up the Wii and have another go. Sad and pathetic, I know, but I can’t help it: I’m just wired this way.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

