jump to navigation

Awry August 7, 2007

Posted by Brian L. Belen in Ramblings, Technology.
trackback

I. Lost in Motion

The family recently transferred to a new house, meaning that all of us have gone through the roller coaster ride that can only accompany such an experience. While the move itself has gone on smoothly for the most part, it appears to have claimed an unintended victim in the Master’s Diploma that I worked hard to obtain since the graduate school adventure began two years ago.

Usually, something like this wouldn’t bother me. For one thing, it’s really just symbolic more than anything else, and for something or another to get misplaced in the process of moving is just par for the course. Yet I can’t help but feel a twinge of sadness at the thought that nobody can recall where it was last, least of all myself.

I remain hopeful that it’ll turn up sooner or later. How can’t I? It’s gonna be a while (if at all) before I get the degree that is to follow.

II. More Technical Support Woes

I have a love-hate relationship with my DSL service here in the Philippines. Really, the “hate” part has everything to do with the technical support and customer service, which are some kind of terrible. This I learned all over again while trying to get our account transferred to the new house.

Of the things that went wrong this time around — and there are many, as practically the only thing that went right was that the line got transferred the day after I made the request — the one that takes the cake was a call to the customer service line that felt like talking to a brick wall. Typically, people in such cases get frustrated when they end up on the line with an automated system that asks them to key in an endless litany of numbers before they can actually speak to a human being. In my case, I was able to immediately get a real person on the other end of the line. Unfortunately, she so happened to be intelligent enough only to give any one of five scripted responses to anything I had to say or ask.

I’d rather not recreate the conversation from memory (I probably could if I tried, but the accompanying increase in my blood pressure isn’t good for my well being). Suffice it to say that this was probably the first time in my life I would have actually preferred to talk to a machine instead.

III. Selective Celphone Paralysis

My celphone appears to have suffered a stroke: the buttons on the right side of the keypad are now occasionally unresponsive.

I first noticed this when I almost sent someone a text chock full of jibberish. See, I use the phone’s predictive text input and am comfortable enough doing so that I tend not to look at the screen while keying in a message. Yet right before sending this particular one, I realized that some of the words didn’t come out right (and weren’t words at all) even if I pressed on the buttons the correct number of times. Apparently, now I have to press on the buttons either longer or harder just to get it to register correctly.

Yet the problem comes and goes. After a wretched weekend spent trying to adjust, my finicky old phone began functioning normally again. I’m pretty sure I wasn’t imagining things, but I’m all too willing to plead temporary insanity: there’s a newer model that I’ve been eyeing these days, with nary an excuse (nor funds) to take the plunge.

IV. The Best Laid Plans

When I first came to grips with the amount of free time on my hands while back home for the summer, I made a grand plan to spend my time wisely. I promised myself I’d spend two days a week working with my dad, another two days reading up for my dissertation, another two for personal matters and the last day of the week for whichever needed an extra day. Suffice it to say that nothing has gone according to plan, yet I’ve loved every minute of it.

Comments»

1. Re-Wired, Unwired, Wiired « BRAIN DRAIN - August 11, 2007

[…] ongoing saga with my internet service provider came to a head today with the unexpected arrival at our doorstep […]


Leave a Reply

