jump to navigation

Books of 2006 December 30, 2006

Posted by Brian L. Belen in Books.
trackback

By way of accounting for the books I’ve read this past year, to the best of my recollection:

Christine Aziz

The Olive Readers

Carl Bernstein and Bob Woodward

All the President’s Men

Bryan Burroughs and Mark Helyar

Barbarians at the Gate

Ray Bradbury

Fahrenheit 451

Lillian Jackson Braun

The Cat Who Could Read Backwards

The Cat Who Ate Danish Modern

Raymond Chandler

The Big Sleep

Jasper Fforde

The Eyre Affair (A Thursday Next Novel)

Lost in a Good Book (A Thursday Next Novel)

The Well of Lost Plots (A Thursday Next Novel)

Something Rotten (A Thursday Next Novel)

The Big Over Easy (A Nursery Crime)

Franklin Foer

How Soccer Explains the World

Tim Harford

The Undercover Economist

Nick Hornby

A Long Way Down

Steven Johnson

Everything Bad is Good for You

Gregory Maguire

Wicked

Ayn Rand

Anthem

Laura Joh Rowland

Shinju

Bundori

Kurt Vonnegut

Cat’s Cradle

The tally: twenty-one books, mostly light reading. Not bad, but short of my usual target of twenty-six for the year. Hopefully, next year I’ll do better in terms of number, content and type.

Comments»

1. Jang - January 4, 2007

Brian, HOW DO YOU DO IT? i mean, study and get top of the class ranking, READ and READ and READ and PLAY with your computer games?

You are not human, Mr. Belen! 🙂

Jang

PS, Belated happy bday again, bruce!

2. Brian L. Belen - January 4, 2007

It’s called the power of cramming. I find that I can’t function without a reasonable degree of distraction and pressure. And obviously, when I get too distracted I end up feeling more pressure at the last minute…and there you go.

But you certainly overstate the extent of my abilities: I am not as good as people think I am, though I admit I don’t mind keeping the myth alive.

(And thanks again for remembering!)


Leave a Reply

