jump to navigation

MA Economics November 8, 2006

Posted by Brian L. Belen in Academically Speaking, Ramblings.
trackback

It’s official: I am now a carded economist.

Actually, I’d completed the requirements towards the Master’s Degree for some time now, but it’s only today that I got the diploma – by mail. The alternative was for me to wait until the annual commencement ceremony at the end of the academic year to be conferred the degree. Yet seeing as I’d like to save that occasion for when I finish with my doctorate, I opted out of the commencement and asked that the University send me my diploma at the soonest possible time.

Thus the University mailed my diploma. Not quite as grand, perhaps, but certainly most efficient: there was a knock on my door, whereafter my regular mail carrier, in her grandmotherly demeanor, handed me the hard envelope labeled “Diploma – Do Not Bend” and wished me congratulations.

When I look back at this, I will remember that there were no speeches when I received my diploma, no pomp or pageantry to mark the occasion as remarkable, if not special.

I hope, however, that I also remember that there needn’t have been.

Comments»

1. Jason dV - November 9, 2006

Congratulations! Gosh, now the pressure is really on on us old geezers who are still working ontheir PhDs…

2. Brian L. Belen - November 9, 2006

Thanks! Of course, I’m taking this with a grain of salt. I’m well aware (even if I’m still at the coursework stage) that the PhD can take anywhere from a couple of years to the rest of my miserable life…=p

3. May - November 13, 2006

Congratulations Bri!

4. Brian L. Belen - November 13, 2006

Thanks May. I hope all is well with you.

5. Awry « BRAIN DRAIN - August 7, 2007

[…] has gone on smoothly for the most part, it appears to have claimed an unintended victim in the Master’s Diploma that I worked hard to obtain since the graduate school adventure began two years […]

6. ABD « BRAIN DRAIN - April 22, 2008

[…] 2008 Posted by Brian L. Belen in Academically Speaking. trackback Three years, sixty credits, a Master’s Degree and four doctoral comprehensive exams later, I am now officially one of the many graduate students […]


Leave a Reply

