jump to navigation

Battery Exchange October 8, 2006

Posted by Brian L. Belen in Technology.
trackback

I hadn’t paid much attention to the brou-ha-ha surrounding the defective laptop batteries that were recalled by Dell, Toshiba and Apple until it came to light that I might be a victim.

The batteries in question, manufactured by a subsidiary of Sony, were found to have the problem of potentially overheating and catching fire. Like most people, I thought such a possibility too remote to even dignify with attention. Of course, when an airline or two declared a ban on using laptops manufactured by companies known to have exibited that defect, I admit it got me a bit more interested.

Then I received an email direct from Apple notifying me that I may have an affected battery. After checking the information on their battery replacement program, it turned out that my PowerbookG4 was indeed one of those eligible for a replacement battery.

What did I have to lose? I filled in the necessary online forms and made my claim for a replacement battery, and was duly informed that it would arrive in 4-6 weeks.

That was around three weeks ago. The replacement battery arrived earlier in the week and is now running smoothly on my laptop. My guess is that the battery I received is a refurbished one, but I have no complaints. So far it’s exhibited a longer life on shorter recharge time and doesn’t heat up as much as the old one (which probably did have a defect).

In all, the process was quite painless: Apple ships the replacement out by DHL, and includes return shipping to send back the offending battery (by regular post, of course). IBookG4 and PowerbookG4 owners shouldn’t have to think twice about checking whether they can avail of the program. Unless of course they prefer the excitement of having a laptop whose battery just might burst into flames.

Comments»

No comments yet — be the first.

Leave a Reply

