jump to navigation

Change of Scene June 30, 2006

Posted by Brian L. Belen in Ramblings, Up and Away.
trackback

I just received my grades for the two classes I took over the summer, which to me officially marks the end of the summer session. Were it not for my groupmates, with whom I got along quite well, I doubt the summer would have been as enjoyable. Note to self: in the future, avoid taking two classes over a one month summer session!

Now that the classes are over, I’ve officially accomplished half the coursework towards the PhD as well as completed the requirements for the Master’s Degree in Economics (I took the comprehensive exam for that when the summer began – I didn’t count it on the academic progress section of the site). Unfortunately, this doesn’t mean that I’ll finish the program any sooner as I still have to wait for a class that will only be offered in the Fall of 2007; but at least I can look forward to being awarded the MA when I come back in August and finally become a carded economist.

So I’m counting the hours for my flight back home. This’ll be a doozy: Newark to Manila, via Seattle and Taiwan. Over 20 hours in transit, and in the process I’ll lose a day of my life (if you know what I mean).

But it’ll be worth it. I’m already beginning to wonder how many people will buy me lunch in the near two months I’ll be home (shameless hint!). Now that would be interesting to write about for a future entry.

Comments»

1. chichi - July 1, 2006

I’m starting to think that our encounter in YM was not accidental. Someone really wants a free lunch. Hahahaha. Yes, i’ll still treat you but not lunch just the coffee of your choice in starbucks. Happy? 🙂


Leave a Reply

